Diamonds in the rough

Posted by Joanne Kelley

A couple of weeks ago, I had the opportunity to interview seven incredible high school seniors competing for Daniels Fund scholarships.

I was so moved by their stories of beating the odds that the old news reporter in me began taking notes all over their applications so I could remember the precise details of their stories and keep them straight.

At the end of the day, I discovered I had to turn in the materials I’d scribbled on all afternoon. Fortunately, Denver Post columnist Tina Griego captured her own interview experience beautifully here.

The students I interviewed weren’t the same students, but they left me with the same impression: the future is brighter than we think.

To see a video about a surprise announcement of a small group of Daniels Scholar finalists in the metro area or for a full list of the 267 scholarship recipients announced today, click here.  

Joanne Kelley is the executive director of the Colorado Association of Funders.

About coloradogivingvoice

Colorado Giving Voice is a blog created by the Colorado Association of Funders for sharing, storytelling, and raising awareness about Colorado philanthropy.
This entry was posted in Stories of Impact. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

